XLStyles Tool store app works great on latest Windows 10 build 9926

I installed Windows 10 Technical Preview today and went through all XLStyles Tool usage paths. All issues that came up in the previous build have been fixed (e.g., file picker started working as expected, cancelling file open action no longer pops an error message, etc…). I haven’t found a reason to re-compile the most recent build of the app yet. Windows 10 feels very clean, fast and responsive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to XLStyles Tool store app works great on latest Windows 10 build 9926

  1. Alan Taylor says:

    Hi, in our enterprise, IT have disabled the use of the Windows Store in 8.1, so I am unable to download it from the Store. IT refuse to enable it. Is there a way I can use a stand-alone version of the tool? I tried the .Net 4 version but it refused to run.

    Thanks.

    • XLGeek says:

      Hi Alan, it is pretty strange that they would let you run digitally unsigned executables and block the app store where all apps have been scanned for viruses and digitally signed. It is somewhat backwards from the security standpoint. App store is the safest and easiest way to distribute these types of helper apps. If you will give me your permission I will contact you via e-mail and we will see what we can do for you. Microsoft made it painful to run .Net executables in Win 8+, so I went with the store app option which after initial setup cost also easier to upgrade and keep users current automatically.

      • Alan Taylor says:

        Hi XLGeek,

        I think they were concerned people would download all sorts of odd things. Anyway, sure you can contact me via email. I don’t want you to go to any trouble though. I can just run it on my PC at home. I just thought there may have been an alternative, that’s all.

        Alan

  2. Dawn says:

    Hi,

    We are in the same boat here at my company, where we cannot get to the App Store. Were to able to find a fix for Alan?

  3. Jeremy says:

    Is there a way I could also get the sideloading version? In the same boat as the people above.

    • XLGeek says:

      If your IT is too militant can you install on another PC or use SL45 version? Sideloading is pretty involved process on Win 10 machines.

      • Jeremy says:

        I’m actually apart of our IT department. We had to lock the store down at the request of department heads (not IT) due to people enjoying a little bit too much freedom of installing random stuff on their company computers that shouldn’t have been installed. I’m looking at making it apart of our base image as a lot of our staff use this. Trying to determine the best method to make that happen.

      • XLGeek says:

        I’m not an expert on the app store app whitelisting. Try asking community: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us

      • Jeremy says:

        I understand, I wasn’t asking how to do any of that. I was just asking for the AppxPackage with the certificate which will allow me to install it via a powershell command manually. If you do not wish to provide it to me please just tell me that and I’ll have to find another way around it.

      • XLGeek says:

        I don’t have a certificate. Looks like Dawn is making progress with the image.

      • Dawn says:

        Hi Jeremy,
        Yea, were are in the same predicament (I am IT too, but they don’t want the store enable). I never went further trying to side board this yet – go side tracked with a project. I am working with a consultant in 2 weeks to make some tweeks to our imaging (OSD through SCCM), and I’ll see if he can come up with a workaround. I’ll let you know if we have any luck!

      • XLGeek says:

        This is great. Please post update if you are successful. More orgs update to Windows 10.

  4. Jeremy says:

    We’re currently working with our SCCM image right now as well to see if we can get it to work. I’ll let you know if we have any luck as well.

  5. Dawn says:

    Hello,
    Can you please share the sideloading version with me? We are going to try to get this installed.
    Thank you,
    Dawn

Leave a Comment or Ask a Question

